Going to the Library

by crobertson

Thank you Carrie for inspiring today’s post!

A while back.  When I was less pregnant.  I made trips to the library.  I would go down to our children’s section and just explore.  Grab books.  Piles of them.  All different kinds.  Most of them I was drawn to the cover or title.  I would sit.  Open and read.  Enjoy their words & pictures.

I was shopping.  For free  🙂

I returned to my classroom with handfuls of books.  I explained to my students that I went shopping for mentor texts.  I would read.  We would share.  Discuss.  Pull out the structure or ideas we could borrow from the author.

I love shopping.  For free  🙂

So here are just some of the treasures I have found.

My Dog Is As Smelly As Dirty Socks: And Other Funny Family Portraits by Hanoch Piven (using similes as a structure)

My Dad Is Big And Strong, BUT…: A Bedtime Story by Coralie Saudo and Kris Di Giacomo (role reversal, humor)

Every Friday by Dan Yaccarino (routine, memoir)

Earrings! (Aladdin Picture Books) by Judith Viorst and Nola Langner Malone (persuasive)

The Little Red Pen by Susan Stevens Crummel and Janet Stevens  (personification, spin off of classic…The Little Red Hen)

On a Wintry Morning by Dori Chaconas and Stephen T. Johnson (small moment, repeating line)

Emma’s Elephant: And Other Favorite Animal Friends by David Ellwand (alliterations, photo essay structure)

 

