Some Things Never Change

by crobertson

“Mom”  “Look!”  Excitement would run through my veins.  Eyes dart to mom as she dug in her coin purse.  “Thank you mom!”  On my tippi toes I would look through the glass, scanning, squinting, spotting my goal.  Clink.  Forward, to the side, back a little.  My thumb and that tiny little red button made contact.  Drop, close, lift.  “Mom!”  “Look!”  “I got it!”  Mom would giggle.

Some things never change…

“Chris”  “Look!”  Excitement runs through my veins.  Eyes dart to Chris as I dig in my coin purse.  A smile comes across his face.  We stand looking through the glass, scanning, squinting, spotting the goal.  Clink.  Clink.  Forward, to the side, back a little.  My thumb and that tiny little red button make contact.  Drop, close, lift.  “Chris!”  “Look!”  “I got it!”  Chris giggles.

