Distracted Part 2…Unfortunately

by crobertson

Sheesh!

I have been foraging through the billion thoughts going through my mind…for hours.

Still distracted!  Ugh, so frustrating.

The ideas are coming to me.  Write about:  Buttons, Life in the Eyes of Atticus, Our Wedding: Part 1 & 2, Being a Lefty, Short Fuse…no loss of ideas.

It’s when my fingers hover above the keys…nothing.

When I get the reward of contact, I re-read, “I don’t like the way it flows” , “That’s not how I want the reader to understand it”  , “Is that really how I remember it”

My pinkie is drawn to delete.  Contact is made.

While I watch the words disappear, I recalled a conference with one of my students where I saw ghost writing (erased words).  Our conference was about a completely different piece, but I had to inquire why I was seeing this ghost writing and his response was, “I didn’t know what else to write.”  It was easier for him to just erase and forget the idea than let it sit and come back to it with fresh eyes.  We spent our conference discussing this.  I didn’t want to do this.  I stopped and clicked undo.  Saved my draft.  I will come back to this tomorrow, or the next day, or next week…I will nurture this piece, give it time, allow it to develop.

