Easter Returns

by crobertson

As children, my brother and I would spend the day before Easter with mom decorating eggs.  We were either at home or up at grandma and grandpas.  Wherever we were, it was a family event.  Everyone participated and everyone had their own special egg design.  I can’t recall off the top of my head what grandma and I would always make, but grandpa would always make a watermelon.  Mom’s design was flowers.  Ron’s design was spider-man.  Once all the other eggs were designed/colored it was bedtime so we could get up early for the…egg hunt!  After finding all our eggs and baskets with goodies, grandma and I would make deviled eggs….delicious!

As we got older, my brother and I would spend the day before Easter with mom decorating eggs.  Grandma and grandpa passed away so we were either at home or in Ron’s apartment.  Even though it wasn’t the whole family anymore, we made sure grandma and grandpas eggs were made.  There was no egg hunt, but mom always had baskets for us…even though we were older.  The eggs we colored the night before would be divvied up and we would each take some home.

As adults, we haven’t been able to get together every Easter.  When we did it was at our house or Ron’s up in Michigan.  Whenever we did get together, we made sure to make grandma and grandpas eggs.  Last year the whole family couldn’t get together, so mom came to our house.  I hid the eggs, and put goodies in the baskets.  I watched my mom and Chris search around the house.  I was able to capture what my mom loved seeing with us as kids.  The eggs we colored were divvied up and mom took some home.

As parents, we might not be able to get the whole family together every Easter.  If we do, I will be going back to our original tradition.  We will make sure grandma and grandpas eggs are made.  In the morning I will get up early to hide eggs & baskets for Maggie, Ron, Susan, mom, Chris, and our newest arrival.  After finding all our eggs and baskets with goodies, we will make deviled eggs….delicious!

