We’ve got this …

by crobertson

We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant. You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or just think it’s going to get on by itself. You’ve got to keep watering it. You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it. – John Lennon

In the beginning of the year, my students had it in them.  They had a love for life, learning, each other.  They had a love for reading and writing.  For math, science, social studies…really everything.  They may have not known it, or realized it but it was there.

I have been reflecting quite a bit lately.  I look at my class today and things have changed.  Today I feel that they realize it.  That they know it.  All I had to do was nurture it.

Nurture their ability to write.

DSCN3312

Nurture a feeling of comfort.

DSCN3315

Nurture their need to share in their reading.

DSCN3314

Nurture the need to share in their writing.

DSCN3313

Nurture each of their personalities.

DSCN3290

Nurture their need to share their life.  (thanks to Dana & Two Writing Teachers)

Slice of Life

I just try and nurture what they already have.

