Nervous Laugh

by crobertson

Nervous laugh.  You know the one that comes out when you really shouldn’t be laughing.  Well, I have the case of the nervous laugh.  I always have.  I’ve had eyes look at me in shock.  Comments have been made.  People have been mad.  I can’t help it.  It’s a nervous laugh.  Thankfully my husband knows this about me…

It was about 11:00ish on a Friday night.  I was reading some posts, searching in my mind for ideas on what to write.  I was out with some friends, had a few and pretty tired.

Crash!  Bang!  Boom!  No we were not watching Batman & Robin.  I wish.  We looked up at each other, frozen in fear.  Our eyes looked over to the monitor waiting for the green dots to grow moving to red.  Nothing.  Phew!  Then I started to chuckle.  It wasn’t funny.  It was a nervous laugh.  You see, that Crash!  Bang!  Boom!  was the computer slipping out of my hands, hitting the coffee table, bouncing (not exaggerating…it really bounced) onto the floor.  “Are you kidding me?”  “How did you drop that?”  “Unbelievable!”  “It better not be broken!”  I’m frozen, in shock, continuing to chuckle.  “I’m sorry, I don’t know what happened.  Deep breath…nervous laugh, go away!  Go away!  We pick up the computer.  We turn it back on.  A green crack emerges.  It’s broken.  The screen was shattered.  Not knowing what else to say, I sat down, searching his face for a reaction.  He was stunned.  He was angry.  I sat there, and let him have his moment…in the sunroom.  He returned, looked at me.  I felt the nervous laugh coming back.  Stop!  Go away!  He smiles, shakes his head.  He knows me so well.  “Don’t worry about the computer.”  “I know it was an accident, but we have to be more careful.”  “We’ll make a trip to Best Buy and see if we can get everything off the hard drive.”  Chris, you are an amazing person, husband…dad.  I love you!

 

