On Friday Morning

by crobertson

Every Friday morning I spend with my son Braeden. We wake up together. Get ready together. Drive to school together. Since this is (usually) the only day during the work week I get to do this, it’s pretty special.

Friday is my favorite day of the week. Not just because the weekend is beginning. Because every Friday morning I spend time with Braeden.

On Friday morning, I wake Braeden up.
“Good morning sunshine,” squinted eyes look up. Rub…Rub. Round eyes look up. Big smile.

I feel the tightness of your arms around my shoulders, I feel the love.

I pick out your outfit. Diaper, socks, shirt, pants…a little wiggle there, a little laugh here. “Peek-a-boo,” squirm, giggle, laugh.

We drive to school together (really it’s daycare, but we call it school). We talk. I tell you all the things I see. I sing the ABC’s…and other songs a little off key.

Once the car is parked, I open the back door. I see a smile, your so excited I know.

“Good morning Braeden,” loving waves and smiles. We play for a minute or two, or three…ok maybe 5.

You cry when I leave, I cry in the car. I know you stop, I stop too. We both get through it and have great days. It’s hard I know, but it’s good for you.

3:00 is near, I’m almost there. I sneak in the room. I see you playing. Your head turns, you see me.

I feel the tightness of your arms around my shoulders, I feel the love.

Mentor Text: Every Friday

