I Miss You

by crobertson

Last year my Mom retired.  Because she had a mini stroke.  Nearly lost her life.  Nearly lost her time with her grandchildren.  Nearly lost it all.  She quit her job.  Moved to Michigan.  Bought a house on her own; for the first time in her life, she was free.

Today, my heart aches.
I can hear it in her voice.  She misses me too.  

While I carry on in conversation, my mind races.  Thinking about how we were only an hour apart, yet didn’t speak on the phone as often as we do now.  Thinking about how we’ve spent more quality time together now, compared to years past.  My mind races with these thoughts.

Realizing what is true.  That someday.  Someday she will be gone.  Life will come to an end.  And I will be left with regrets, I should have, wish I…

“Crystal, are you there?”

Realizing I don’t want to live in the past.  I don’t want to dwell on the what-ifs.  

Realizing what more can I absorb and know about my Mom.

“Yeah, I’m here.”

