Goodnight

by crobertson

Tonight before you lay down to sleep-we brushed our teeth, we sat at your desk and drew: 7 vacuums, 1 Arthur (from the TV show) and 1 Mommy, we read “The Bernstein Bears Visit the Dentist” and talked about your visit to the dentist, we sat on the couch and I tickled your back, we made one last trip to the bathroom, we walked quietly into your room so not to wake your little brother, “goodnight” you whispered into the crib, you took off your slippers and jumped under the covers, you gave me a hug and kiss, and I tucked you in.

“Goodnight sweetheart, sleep good and I’ll see you in the morning.”

“Goodnight Mommy, sleep good and I’ll see you in the morning.”

“Mommy, can I get another kiss and hug?”

Standing at the door, I blew you a kiss and hug.  You sat up, caught my kiss and hug bringing them to your heart.

Tonight before I lay down to sleep-I catch my breath.  I am so in love.

